Courtney Barnett in Whelans

On April 4th, my fella and I popped along to Courtney Barnett’s sold-out gig at Whelan’s, Dublin.

It was a warm Saturday night and I was kinda “meh” about going out, to be honest, but I am so glad we did!

Barry heard Courtney on TXFM some time last year and I bought him her EP ” A Sea of Split Peas”. I loved her grungey, almost monotone trails of consciousness lyrics:

“the paramedic thinks I’m clever because I play guitar. I think she’s clever because she stops people dying”

and her wordplay “it’s Monday, so mundane”.

The gig was sweaty and jammers. The middle aged lady in front of me was pressed up so close against me, I think she got me pregnant…

Courtney and her band played a blinder, a lot poppier than I’d imagined and almost psychadelic in places. I thought she was gonna lob herself in to the drum kit and a couple of points, but she managed to restrain herself!

She was cool enough to come to the merchandise stand after the gig and do some signing, which was deadly, my boyfriend was thrilled cos he had popped over to buy me a copy of her new EP “Sometimes I Sit and Think, and sometimes I just Sit” as a Thank You for the gig tickets.

She gave me a big wave through the crowd too. She has an amazing fringe. And a Torvill and Dean tshirt. Total girl crush.

Moi’s EP (I think you can tell from her handwriting that she totally wants to be my bestie)

Courtney Barnett EP

This is my favourite track, from her debut EP

Leave a Reply

