Are ‘Friends’ Electric?

Does something ever catch you unawares? A song you’ve heard a million times, a book you’ve read to death, a photo you’ve looked at every day… one day you hear/read/see it in a different light and it changes.

I was walking to work this morning and “Are ‘Friends’ Electric” by Gary Numan came on the radioΒ and Jaysis, the feels!

This verse hit me as so sad, so tragic and real.

“So I found out your reasons
For the phone calls and smiles
And it hurts
And I’m lonely
And I should never have tried
And I missed you tonight
It must be time to leave
You see it meant everything to me”

I went through a friendship break-up around this time last year, and it’s been on my mind lately, so thisΒ was so poignant.Β Mff.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Are ‘Friends’ Electric?

  1. Awh Hazel. Friendship breakups are the worst. I get weepy everytime I hear Lady Gaga’s Poker face because it reminds me of a friend that has drifted away.

    I had one of those moments recently though. A song from badly drawn boy that I forgot existed and that holds great memories of myself and a friend who past away when I was 18. Started bawling in work; it was a shock to hear the song and to start weeping but it just shows that these feelings are underneath the surface and do need to come out. Head up lady xx

Leave a Reply

